…I really want to know about a word or a phrase for people who awkwardly walk around their houses, going from room to room, thinking, “well, there’s this room. This is the room I am in right now”, not in a presence-of-being kind of way, but in a fidgety kind of way. Like your mind didn’t know how to stimulate itself with thoughts anymore so it decided to start looking at different but identically coloured walls. You shuffle around looking at things and everything you look at turns you off. You just think “I can’t do that because I’m tired and knitting takes initiative” or “there’s too much food in the fridge and I just can’t decide which food to rescue from going bad”. And then you realize it’s close to midnight and you feel like you’ve failed even though you’ve been wandering around, obsessively browsing social media and being weirdly melancholic/apathetic for over two hours and now that it’s time for bed you can actually do something. I’m a stranger in my own life sometimes.

Leave a comment