if I spoke a little less

left a little sooner

given my friends more space

if I produced a little less garbage

was a little less uptight, self-conscious, self-aware

if I could curl further into myself

sink my roots deep into a trench of self-confidence

I could be like a small, soft moment

an entire, fragile, luminescent shell partially exposed in a wash of sand

to be happened upon by the curious

If I could just be an idea

because what does my presence give

I’m helpless over beauty

helpless over knowledge

if I were less

people would think

that a sparkle

was wonder enough.

Leave a Reply

