These are my resolutions for 2017. I’ll add more resolutions and descriptions as I think of them.

1.  Floss daily.
Pretty self-explanatory. The dentist told me I should floss not once a week, not every other day like I have been, but EVERY. SINGLE. DAY. Let’s see how this one goes.

2. Be more assertive.
‘Assertive’ includes things like:

  • not saying hello in such a soft voice that no one can hear,
  • kindly speaking up when I think my coworker is making a mistake or forgot to mention something
  • not worrying too much about saying/texting the right thing, getting back in touch with friends
  • not second-guessing myself all the time and try to trust that people will be friendly and polite if I strike up a conversation

3.  Finish the first draft of my novel.

4.  Exercise at least three times a week.

5. Read and watch more non-fiction. 
This also means not being intimidated by learning facts and history, not being afraid of confusion like I suspect I have been in the past.

6. Try to read or watch the news every day.

7. Take a refresher driving course. 

8. Do better at managing my temper.

9. Now that Trump is President-Elect, I’m going to try even harder to stay informed, to show kindness and generosity, to be an example of forgiveness and understanding. To not be complacent, to distinguish myself. 

 

Leave a Reply

