1. Get educated on investing and start investing (by July at the latest).
    I didn’t follow up on this because I wanted to put money into something more stable first to take advantage of high interest rates. With the help of a financial advisor, I was able to put away some money so it could grow interest. Hopefully I can start investing in 2023 and have a better financial plan.
  2. Go on an outing with my boo once a month.
    I don’t think we went out once a month (in some months it was more challenging because I was visiting family) but we went out on more dates than in previous years and I felt like we were a lot more social.
  3. Write every day for a whole month.
    I did this in November again!! I even went a little bit over my November word count in 2021.
  4. Write and prepare a short story to submit to the YEG Writes anthology.
    I didn’t write a short story this year, although I thought about it. I didn’t want to take a break from the novel I’m working on.
  5. Practice self-compassion and mindfulness. Be more reflective.
    I did a meditation challenge one month, which was lovely. I wrote in my journal a bit, but I could’ve done it a lot more. I  reflected a lot more near the end of 2022, but it’s something I need to incorporate throughout my whole life.
  6. Waste less food.
    I have no proof that I did this, but I feel like I wasted less this year because I cleaned out the fridge almost every week and felt like I threw away less. I was more aware of when things were about to go bad (probably because I have a smaller fridge now!).
  7. Focus on reading books on racism, get educated about First Nations peoples.
    I attended an art exhibit by Alex Janvier and read the Truth and Reconciliation Calls to Action. There are some things I haven’t finished yet, like the Secret Path animated film and Tainna by Norma Dunning, which we were assigned to read for Professional Development Day. I think in 2023 I will put together a book list to help me stay on track to achieving this goal.

All the best for 2023!!

Leave a comment